Press Archives Press Releases

Republic of Palau signs the International Solar Alliance (ISA) Framework Agreement





H. E. Tommy E. Remengesau, Hon’ble President of the Republic of Palau, signed the International Solar Alliance (ISA) Framework Agreement today, 15 July 2019, at the Permanent Mission of India to the United Nations, New York. President Remengesau recognized the ISA as a key initiative for promoting sustainable energy. 

Palau became the 76th country to sign the ISA Framework Agreement. To date, a total of 54 of the 76 countries have ratified the Framework Agreement.

President Remengesau praised India as an important partner for South-South Cooperation and commended the positive role being played by the India-UN Development Fund in promoting sustainable development projects in partner countries. He appreciated that India made no distinction between the size of countries and treated small countries like Palau with respect and mutual understanding.                                                                                                                          

Background: The International Solar Alliance was jointly launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and then French President Francois Hollande at the UN Climate Change Conference in Paris on 30 November 2015. It is a major global initiative for contributing to the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement through rapid and massive deployment of solar energy. The ISA Framework Agreement was opened for signature during the 2016 United Nations Climate Change Conference in Morocco on 15 November 2016. The ISA became a treaty-based intergovernmental body on 6 December 2017. The Founding Conference of the ISA was jointly hosted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and French President Emmanuel Macron in New Delhi on 11 March 2018. It was attended by leaders of 48 countries, including 25 Heads of State/Government. The First Assembly of the ISA was held in New Delhi on 3 October 2018. The Assembly was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the United Nations Secretary-General H.E. Mr. António Guterres.